Every time you browse the web in your Google Chrome browser, the data about all the websites you’ve visited is stored on your hard drive. This information is usually stored in order to improve your browsing experience but sometimes, we all want to go incognito. You don’t want your mom or dad see what websites you visited or you what to conceal the browsing data from your boss. So let’s find out how to go incognito in Chrome.
What is an Incognito Mode?
You should keep in mind that Incognito Mode doesn’t mean that you can be totally anonymous on the web. Even when you switch it on, your browser continues sending the information about your IP and login to other websites. This data is used in order to identify when you’ve been online and from what country you are.
Moreover, this mode can’t hide what you are doing on your laptop from monitoring programs. Its main mission is to hide the information about all the websites you’ve visited. Simply put, you shouldn’t clean the history after browsing.
Now, let’s move on to discussing how to open websites incognito in Chrome.
How to Go Incognito on Chrome: Tips to Follow
- It is easy to find an incognito window and activate this mode. First, you need to open the main menu of a browser (three dots that are placed vertically in the upper right corner of the screen). You’ll see a drop-down menu.
- You need to choose “New Incognito Window”. Besides, you can also do this with the help of the keyboard shortcut CTRL-SHIFT-N.
- When you do this, you’ll see a new window, showing that now you can surf the net incognito.
You’ll also see a short explanation about this mode, what it is and how to use it. After you turn it on, you’ll see the Incognito Mode Logo that will be displayed in the upper right corner. When you see this symbol, it means that your browsing history is not recorded at the moment.
Now, your browser won’t be recording the information about all the websites you’ve opened. Nevertheless, the information about downloaded files will be stored. Don’t expect that this mode can hide the browsing history from the representatives of your HR or IT department.
When you are in this mode, your browser won’t save the following data:
- Browsing history;
- Data you add into various fields;
- Site information;
All in all, this mode is a superb opportunity to surf the net privately.